top of page

HelloFresh Sub Box - Oven-Baked Chicken with Creamy Potato Salad and Baby Kale (3/3)

This recipe was pretty interesting. I had never heard of a warm Potato Salad before and it wasn't something I thought would work well with these ingredients. I will say the title was a little misleading. They actually put Kale in the Potato salad so that is why I changed things up. Kale I think is kind of like Spinach in the sense that if you put hot food near or around it, it will wilt. I didn't really want this to happen so I decided to make this salad cold instead. So I didn't do the recipe exactly in the steps they called for. I made the Potatoes and cooled them so that I could make the Potato Salad traditionally. I made this recipe on November 22nd, 2019.

I don't have much to really say about this recipe. The chicken was basically just battered and baked, nothing too special or extravagant. The only thing I would have maybe done first was pan-fry it first so that the "crust" and seasoning would have stayed on better, but that's just a personal preference. I have a few changes I would have made to the Potato Salad but keep in mind I had mine cold so these changes may not apply to a warm salad. I would have changed the Shallots to Green Onions. I find the Shallots are strong and I usually prefer to add Green Onions to salads. I can see why they would suggest Shallots for a warm salad, I think that I would fry the Shallots though if I was using them. I would have also added a little pickle juice to the Mayo but again that is probably a cold Salad thing.

Now what I learned from this recipe is this. HelloFresh gets the freshest ingredients. This DOES NOT always mean they are Canadian ingredients. That is one of the things that I misunderstood I guess. Maybe I just assumed they would be getting items in Canada because that's where I am from, but that is not the case. And I figured this out because the pickles they sent (that I LOVED), were from America. Not that there is anything wrong with that, just if that is an important thing for you and your family, now you know.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page