top of page

Chili Soup

This recipe is a little bonus recipe of sorts and it came to be completely by accident. I was in the middle of testing another recipe when I added too much water to the Chili! I was so disappointed! I was kicking myself. I had the perfect amount of water and I didn't trust it and I added more. And as it cooked it became obvious it was too much. So much so that it turned into a soup. I thought supper was ruined but I was wrong!


So this recipe is great for leftover Chili, or if like me you accidentally added too much liquid to it. So we are going to explore both options.


First, the Chili. I started with an Onion, a Sweet Bell Pepper, and two Cloves of Garlic. (You can substitute the Bell Pepper for a hotter pepper if you prefer.) I pan-fry the vegetables (you can add others if you like, Mushrooms, Corn, Carrots, etc.) with a pound of hamburger meat and one package of Chili Seasoning pre-mix, salt and pepper generously. To that, I add Beef Broth (or Water and Beef Bouillon) according to the package directions. Once the meat has browned, add it to the crockpot.


To that crockpot add a can of Mixed Beans, a can of Kidney Beans, and a can of Navy Beans (drain them all before adding). Along with a can of Roasted Tomatoes (Stewing Tomatoes).


This is the main recipe for my Three Bean Chili. Now to make it into soup. Simply add one cup of Broth to the chili (you may need more depending on how much water cooks out of the meat) to the crockpot. I let this cook for 6 hours on low. If you enjoy spice, feel free to add a Taco Pack to your seasoning! Or Red Pepper Flakes!




Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page