top of page

Christmas Project #4 (Shopping List and Project)

This one isn't really a "Project" and it isn't a stocking stuffer but again I thought of it as I was Candy shopping and I thought it would be a wonderful idea! I was a 90s child and I grew up with a lot of chocolates and candies that they just don't have any more. Either they are not popular and stopped selling, or just frowned upon now so they slipped away. But for some reason, they just aren't around anymore. But I saw a lot of things online that brought me back to my childhood, and I never thought I would see them again.


So this "project" is a Candy Box. And basically, it is just all retro candies in a box for a person in their late twenties or early thirties (or older or just anyone who likes candy). So this is just going to be a list of things I found, and that reminded me of my childhood (you may find others that you relate more too). I didn't do this (so there won't be a step by spet guide or anything), but I thought it would be a good project.


Candy and Chocolate Sticks - when I was a kid they were called Cigarettes! They don't do that anymore now they call them "Candy Sticks". Candy Depot has Popeye! which is the brand I grew up with but they also have Worlds King Size Candy Sticks. They also have Quality Belgian "Chocolate Sticks". I loved these as a kid my Dad used to bring home a "carton" of them for myself and my friends and we just loved them.


Gummy Foods - I am not really sure what to call these but it is the gummies that look like Hamburgers, Hot Dogs, Tacos, Pizza (and another kind here too and they have slices too) etc. They are really cute and they were super popular when I was a kid. They are just so fun and interesting.


Candy - this is very generic and subjective obviously. So I am going to talk about candies I saw that reminded me of things I haven't seen in a while, but they obviously still make. The first one is Jolly Ranchers (they also have Jolly Rancher Freezer Pops- So Sweet Canada also has them). Next, Pop Rocks! These things were so popular as I kid, I remember Dairy Queen even made a Blizzard with them. I haven't seen them in years and the last time I saw them it was just tiny little Halloween packets (they also have Cupcake Coated Popping Candy). After that we have Nerds! These things were really popular in the early 90s, I remember they were the best Halloween candy when I was really little. And it was a major victory when you got two flavours in one box! Who could forget Starburst?? We still have them today but they really came bug in the 90s. Now they have all kinds of different ones but one of my favourites is the All Pink Edition (they even have it as a drink mix)! Airheads, these things were the ultimate lunch snack! I remember going through the box and digging out my favourites to bring to school first. They have them in individual (Watermelon, Strawberry, Orange, Green Apple, Cherry, Grape, Blue Raspberry (and Extreme Blue Raspberry), Blue Raspberry & Cherry, Raspberry & Cherry, Straw Melon, and White Mystery)! Next, we have Warheads. These came later on in my childhood but they were very memorable. We used to challenge each other to keep the candy in our mouths! The first person to spit it out lost. (You can find them individually here, and you can also find them as Freezer Pops!) Similar to Warheads, Lotsa Fizz was really fun candies too (they were like the original Warheads before they became a thing). JAWWWWW BREAKEEEERRRRRSSSS (enough said)! Next is Life Savers, but not just any Life Savers, Butter Rum Life Savers. I can not find this anywhere anymore. And they were my absolute favourite growing up (that and cherry). Pixie Sticks! At least that is what they were called when I was a kid. I am not sure if they still have these, I haven't seen them in a while and I honestly thought they didn't make them. But Candy Depot has some of them that are Regal brand and they have regular and sour. And finally, Fun Dip everyone knows Fun Dip and as a 90s kid you simply can't miss out on these.


Snacks - when I say snacks I mean more like things that were in our lunch kits! Like Dunkaroos! I haven't seen these in ages and I think they are only recently coming back but they are out there in Vanilla and Chocolate (also available at So Sweet Canada - Vanilla and Chocolate). Cracker Jacks, when I was a kid it used to come in a bag. I don't remember eating it often, I preferred Poppycock, but it was good (just a little before my time). Froot By the Foot, Fruit Gushers (Sour)and Fruit Roll-Up. Every 90s child had these in their lunch! It was the "cool thing" that and Root Beer Gummies (can't find those anymore anywhere!).


Gum - I am not sure why but Bubble Gum was huge when I was a kid, maybe because we weren't allowed to have it at school so it was such a treat to get it. I loved Hubba Bubba both in the cubes and in the tape. It was so good and made the best bubbles! I also loved Bazooka gum! It used to come with the Bazooka Joe little comic strips, those were fun it was like gum and a comic book at the same time. Another type of gum we used to have when I was a kid was one where the inside would be jelly of some sort and it would squirt out! I don't think it was this company but it is very similar. This gum I also don't remember what company it was, I think it used to be Hubba Bubba but I couldn't find that one. But we had these jug looking things that always came with bits of bubble gum and that was awesome when I was a kid. I did find something similar though on So Sweet Canada (Green Apple, Blue Raspberry, and Strawberry). And finally, the ultimate gum that stands out in my mind from my childhood was Chocolate Milk bubble gum. I have no idea what company it was, but it was so good. And I have been searching all over the internet and can not find it anywhere. Unfortunately, I don't have a link for these (as I said I couldn't find them) but if you do, jump on them (an alternative I did find is a Chocolate Milk Shake Candy).


Drinks - now what 90s kid doesn't remember Chubby! These things were like my big treat when I was a kid. I wasn't allowed to have soft drinks really, but occasionally my parents would let me have one of these and they were always so good! Again, I haven't seen them in years and I was super excited to see that Candy Depot had them. And it is amazing how many flavours they have, I don't think they had this many when I was a kid (Reggae Red, Cream Soda, Bubble Gum, Purple Power, Tutti Frutti, Blueberry, Orange Tango, Pineapple Sunshine, Action Apple, Rock N Roll Cola, Martian Magic Green Cream, Poppin Pear, Reggae Gold, Orange Tango, and Birthday Cake). And finally, Nip N Sip. These aren't really drinks per se but they aren't really candy either. These were known in my house as the Wax Juice, for obvious reasons. And I loved them and hated the wax even though I made sure to chew it just in case it turned into bubble gum. Candy Depot has sticks and bottles.

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page