top of page

Christmas Special - Project Number 2

Today we are making the Trail Mix Jar! Again I got these jars from the Dollar Store. I like the ones that have clasps on them, I feel like they keep things fresher longer. (I'll share a photo of the final product so you can see the type of jar I got.)



So the only real step to this project is to make the mix. I had a whole list of stuff I added in mine so I won't really go into too much detail about that, but if you are interested in what I used make sure to check out that post.


So when I am making a mix I always start with Mixed Nuts, I think this is the base to any Trail Mix and the only you pick will really help you pick what goes in it. So if you get a Roasted and Salted Mix (like I did), you will probably want something sweet to balance it (like fruits, candies, etc). If you pick Natural Mixes, you are probably trying for something a little more healthy and again fruits would be a great compliment to that, candy maybe not so much because you don't have that salty balance. So that's important to think of what you want and what will go well together.


So next I think of the "special" stuff I add to it. I love Brazil nuts and I find they are few and few between in mixes so I always get those. I also loved the Jumbo Cashews at the Bulk Barn and I grabbed some of those. Keep in mind, it is what you like, if you like a certain nut no matter if it is honey-glazed, roasted, salted, whatever, if you like it, add it. This also goes for the dried fruit, I hate raisins I never add them. If you like them throw those bad boys in there, most fruits (dried anyways) go perfectly well together.


The main thing to remember when doing a project like this is portions. You don't want to have too much of one thing versus the other. So I always try to keep my "special" stuff equal so that there isn't one more than the other. The exception to this of course is nuts in general. You want more nuts than anything else in your Trail Mix. Well, at least I do. (The picture below shows a little better what I am talking about. These are both larger items so you want them to be at the same ratio. The M&Ms I added I added more because they are smaller.)




Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page