top of page

Corn Salsa

Today we are sharing a recipe for Corn Salsa. I am going to start by saying this isn't your traditional salad. This is a homemade chopped salsa. I am modifying this recipe slightly to fit with the Yellow theme from our Cooking Challenge but I will write other options (how I normally make this).


Ingredients:

  • One Container of Small Tomatoes (I get Grape Tomatoes because I am allergic to Cherry Tomatoes, but anything you enjoy is fine. I prefer a sweeter tomato for this.)

  • Two to Four Corns on the Cob (depending on how much corn you like, what purpose you are using this for and how much tomatoes are in your container.)

  • One Avocado

  • One Bell Pepper (any colour you'd like)

  • One Jalapeno Pepper (how much you use of this will depend on how spicy you like your salsa)

  • One Lime (or Lime Juice)

  • Herbs (Cilantro if you enjoy it, Parsely if not)

I personally enjoy grilling the corn on the BBQ in the summer, but however, you prepare your corn normally is fine. Remove the kernels from the cob trying to separate them as much as possible (they may need a quick dice).


Quarter the tomatoes, and cube the avocado (I usually just score avocado vertically and horizontally and scoop out the cubes. If you find that too large feel free to chop them up to a more desirable size. Finally, chop the Bell Pepper and I dice the Jalapeno (I don't want chunks of this, I want it more for a little kick of flavour). I don't like Cilantro so I replace it with Parsley.


I use this for tacos, for burritos, for nachos, it is delicious. You can also eat it as a simple salsa with chips or I like to add a little Crumbled Feta and eat it like a Salad.

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page