top of page

Review Wednesday - HelloFresh - Week 37

This week is week 37! It seems like HelloFresh has really become a part of our lives now and our routine. Though I will be the first to say there are a lot of ups and downs with it. It does seem to become part of your routine quite easily. This week we have Cajun Spiced Chicken Burgers, Spiced Beef "Taco" Naan, Lemony Chicken and Mushrooms, Caramelized Onion Burgers, and Pork Chops with Spicy Cherry Sauce.



First the Cajun Spiced Chicken Burgers with Fries. This one came with a potato for fries, but I don't eat much fries or potatoes so I didn't have them. But everything else was delicious. My Picky Eater doesn't eat potatoes either and he doesn't eat salad either so I had a side salad with mine. That is one thing I have to say about HelloFresh is as long as you plan ahead you can easily take elements that you don't like and change them out for something you do from your own kitchen.

Next, we had Spiced Beef "Taco" Naan with Fresh Tomato Salsa and Lime Crema. This one was interesting. It tasted good, but it was very messy and it did not come together the way it did in the photos. I had to make it and eat it the same way I eat the Naan Pizzas I make. I ate it with a fork and knife, and to be honest, even that was quite messy.


I always try to get at least one salad or a meal with a salad in it. This one was called Lemony Chicken and Mushrooms with Kale Caesar Salad. This was an interesting take on the traditional Caesar Salad. It was very good, and of course, I love that they had me made croutons myself out of bread. I wasn't a huge fan of the salad dressing, it was just Mayo and Parmesan Cheese, but it wasn't as bad as it could have been. The Lemon Juice and zest helped even though the garlic was overpowering.


Next up are Caramelized Onion Burgers with Garlic Aioli and Baked Cauliflower "Frites". I have said before I really only got a Burger meal with HelloFresh during the pandemic because meat availability was hit or miss for a while. There is nothing wrong with their burgers, this one was delicious as all the others are, but I don't find it is worth the money. I also do not make the Cauliflower the way they suggest to make it. I find baking it in the oven the way they say, burns it and doesn't actually cook it enough for my taste. I usually end up boiling it and adding a little salt, pepper, and butter.

And finally, we have Pork Chops with Spicy Cherry Sauce and Citrusy Couscous. I have bought this meal a lot and I never make it the way they say to. Again, I don't like sweet fruity sauces So I never make the Cherry Sauce (I do keep the Cherry Jam that they send though and eat it on toast). You will notice though if you don't make the sauce, the Pork Chop will look pretty bland. But a few seasonings and that is an easy fix.


**Quick Note: This meal usually comes with Green Beans, they substituted it with Snow Peas and I added some of my own Yellow Beans to it. **


Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page