top of page

Review Wednesday - HelloFresh Week 40

This month is our last month of our HelloFresh Review. December we have other special things reserved for the month. So we are going to move around a little and showcase some of the recipes we really enjoyed and some of the ones we weren't a fan of. This week we have three meals, Glazed Pork Chops, Bacon Carbonara, and Carb Smart Steak Caesar Salad.


So we are going to start with the Bacon Carbonara, it came with a Spring Salad. I had heard of Carbonara before. I had seen it on cooking shows and things like that, but I had never tried it and I have certainly never made it before. And it turned out to be really simple and really delicious. And I was very surprised that this meal made so much pasta. Myself and my Mom had a meal out of it and I reheated the leftovers for another meal. So it was very filling and huge portions.



And I will even tell you what I did with the leftovers. We had another HelloFresh meal that I hadn't made yet, and I cooked up a few chicken breasts and the broccoli that came with it. And I added it to the leftover pasta, I reheated it in a frying pan and added a little cream cheese (I used the Garlic and Herb one) and a little butter. And It came out great.


The next meal is the Glazed Pork Chop with Pineapple and Veggie Fried Rice. Mine came out a lot darker than theirs and that is because I like a lot of soya sauce and not a lot of spice. So keep that in mind and maybe use the Soya Sauce accordingly. It was quite a lot of soya sauce but I didn't want to add more of the chili sauce than I already had. Aside from that everything was pretty good. The portions were fine (this plate has the full two portions of rice and it was way too much. But two people would be happy with this). I also added a green pepper to this recipe because I had it in the fridge, and of course I didn't use the pineapple (it wasn't the healthiest anyways when I took it out of the bag, we didn't even eat it just threw it out).


And finally, the Carb Smart Steak Caesar Salad with Kale and Parmesan. I have had this one before a few times and it is always great. But I wanted to show how you can make some of these recipes into whatever you want. They don't add the spice, they don't do anything really, they just provide you with the food so you can make whatever you want. I made the salad on the side, and had the steak with some potato patties and a pepper corn gravy.





Commentaires


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page