top of page

Stocking Stuffers

It is the Holiday Season and today we are going to look at Stocking Stuffers. This may be something that you already do, want to do or have no interest in depending on your culture. Or you may do something similar in your own way! Either way, these are simply ideas for additional little gifts that you can implement however you want.


When I was a kid, we use to have a beautiful big mantel above our fireplace that my mom would cover in stockings. One for her, one for my Dad and the rest for me (I am an only child). Of course, for herself and my Dad they would give each other small things that were of probably significant value, a necklace let's say or a new pocket watch. But for me, because I was a kid and especially because I had so many of them, they were more small things like candy, little dolls, things like that. Of course, what you add in a stocking depends on the age of the person you are doing this for. For teenagers let say a stocking would be great to house a gift card.


Now that I am older, I make stockings for my family members to help keep this tradition alive for myself. I go a little overboard and make huge stockings stuffed with items for the people in my life (like a gift basket type thing but in a stocking). But I love it so much and I think it is a great present in itself. I try to balance things out when I make these stockings, I go for stuff they can use (like bath and body stuff, a new toothbrush, etc) along with stuff they can eat (candy, chips, etc). And then cute little things that I don't really want to wrap and leave under the tree but that isn't really "unique". For example, I love Marshmellow Chocolates. The ones that come in Santa Claus shape. This isn't something obviously you would wrap up and put under the tree and it's not a "gift" per se it is more of a tradition.


So I am going to run through the list of stuff I usually put in a stocking and hopefully this will give you a few ideas!


Bath and Body:

More men I usually get deodorant, and body wash, cologne or aftershave. For women, I find there is much more to choose from. For women, I get a bath bomb (or I make it myself), some Body Wash, Shampoo, Lotions (or I make it myself). I know how to make a few products so I make them and add them into stockings like Face Scrubs, Bath Salts, Lip Balms, but they are great items to get and throw in (and you can usually find them all at the Dollar Store). Also candles. I make them as well but you can get little backs of lovely scented tea lights or things like that and toss them in.


Candy and Chocolate:

What I love to do is go to places that sell food in bulk (my local grocery store or corner store) or to the mother of all bulk places - Bulk Barn. I get little jars at the Dollar Store and fill them up with candies and chocolates that my family enjoys. If you want, you can bring the jar in and fill it up so you know exactly how much you need (check your local store to make sure they are part of this program).


I also enjoy making mixes and stuff and making putting a creative twist on the traditional candies and what not I give, but I will talk more about that next week!

Comentários


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page